Colchicine Toxicity

Standard

Over the past several years, I have occasional trouble with gout.  Usually in my left foot.  It is extremely painful and usually takes me a while to get over it.

The occurrence of gout has to do with high levels of uric acid in the body that crystallizes and settles in joints.  It generally is triggered by diet – high sugar, high protein.  Or so "they" say.  I’ve always had trouble pinpointing anything particular in my diet that would serve as a reasonable explanation.

So…since the end of last year, I’ve been taking allopurinol.  A daily pill is supposed to be a gout preventative.  You can imagine my surprise and disappointment as I realized last Wednesday evening that a new case of gout was developing…in my right foot.

10 thoughts on “Colchicine Toxicity

  1. Snowflake

    Yuck, that sounds awful! Praying you feel much better soon…

    So, did you make an apointment to see your doc? I mean, you’re going to want different meds to clear up your gout…

  2. g

    I’m glad that I read this…normally I don’t click on posts that I can’t pronounce easily. ; )

    First I am going to pray for you!!

    Second, I know that you need to restore your electrolytes so gatorade is good, but it’s also full of sugar which might be irritating your gout.

    I know its so frustrating when you take one med, but then other complications arise…I remember all too well.

    I am not against modern medicine, but it sounds to me that your gout can at least be controlled by diet and thereby reduce the chance that you’ll need meds.

    I recommend that you look into a book called the Rosedale Diet. It’s written by Dr. Ron Rosedale and I’ve found lots of nuggets of useful information and wisdom related to diet in his book.

    Get lots of rest and flush your body with water! This is a useful time for meditation and prayer!

    Again, I will be praying for your full recovery and that God will give you wisdom to deal with any subsequent flare ups.

  3. Cornelius

    Saddens me to read of your suffering, brother. I pray a quick and full recovery. It’s moments like this I wish I could do something to help but alas ……

  4. Burt

    Thanks for the prayers, everyone!

    I’m doing much better overall…except for my foot which is still pretty excruciating.

Leave a comment